Every generation: what ownership is like, what breaks at what mileage, what repairs cost, and what to check before you buy.
Search 'Nissan Altima years to avoid' and the answers cluster. 24/7 Wall St names 2002 as the worst year with over 1,000 NHTSA complaints. CoverageX says the CVT fails more often in one generation than any other, often before 100,000 miles, and says the 2007-2012 cars had early CVT issues too.
This page walks six Altima generations back to 1993. For each, it shows what breaks, what repairs cost where we found sources, and what to check in person. We also show our own numbers: NHTSA complaints per catalog listing and how often ads mention a problem, always with the denominators.
Our fixed rule flags two Altima years. 2009 has 13.68 complaints per listing (1,601 complaints across 117 listings) against a 2007-2012 median of 5.25, and 12 of 80 ads mention a problem. 2019 has 1.45 (234 complaints across 161 listings) against a 2019-present median of 0.29, but it is a young, low-volume generation, so read that flag as a reason to inspect rather than a pattern. Two years the rule does not flag are still worth knowing. 2002 has 1,047 complaints across 7 listings, which is 3.8 times its generation median, but we track only 7 listings for that year. 2013 has 2,314 complaints across 325 listings, the most of any Altima year, which is 3.6 times its generation median, but its ad rate is not above the median.
The 2013-2018 cars carry Nissan's CVT warranty extensions, which we read in the bulletins themselves: 84 months or 84,000 miles instead of 60 and 60,000, for 2013-2016 and 2017-2018 cars. Check the VIN before buying one.
problems cluster by generation, not by badge — know which one you're looking at
NHTSA complaints per catalog listing run from 17.83 for 1997 (107 complaints across 6 listings) to 180.00 for 1995 (180 across 1), against a generation median of 30.67. The highest year, 1995, is 5.9 times that median. No year reaches the 2.0x our rule needs together with an above-median ad share and 30 or more listings, so nothing is flagged. Our catalog holds very few cars of these years, so a complaints-per-listing figure is mostly a small-denominator artifact and our rule cannot fairly flag them. Read the raw complaint counts, not the rate.
| Miles | Item | Cost | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| any | Passenger air bag deployment (1994 and early 1995 cars) | Free at a Nissan dealer when open | NHTSA recall 03V150000 covers 1994 and early 1995 Altimas for passenger air bag deployment. In our NHTSA pull, air bags are the largest complaint component for this generation. Confirm the recall by VIN. |
| any | Engine movement and the airflow meter/speed control (1993-1994), shift lever lock plate (1995), rear brake hose routing (1995), seat belt buckle (1997) | Free at a Nissan dealer when open | NHTSA recalls 94V035000, 94V165000, 95V008000 and 96V185000. Several predate the cars' second owner and may be long done. Confirm each by VIN. |
NHTSA complaints per catalog listing run from 21.75 for 1999 (87 complaints across 4 listings) to 79.50 for 2001 (159 across 2), against a generation median of 47.17. The highest year, 2001, is 1.7 times that median. No year reaches the 2.0x our rule needs together with an above-median ad share and 30 or more listings, so nothing is flagged. Our catalog holds very few cars of these years, so a complaints-per-listing figure is mostly a small-denominator artifact and our rule cannot fairly flag them. Read the raw complaint counts, not the rate.
| Miles | Item | Cost | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| not stated by the sources | Engine and engine cooling complaints | No sourced repair price for this generation. | Engine and cooling is the top component in our NHTSA pull for 1998-2001 Altimas. We found no third-party source that prices a specific repair or gives a mileage window, so we do not invent one. Check coolant condition, hose and radiator leaks, and run a hot idle. |
| any | Recalls on file: Firestone Firehawk GTA-02 tires (01V065000, 2000-2001 cars with that tire) | Free at a Nissan dealer when open | A tire recall concerns the tire, not the car; most surviving cars will have had tires replaced since. Confirm by VIN and read the tire date code. |
NHTSA complaints per catalog listing run from 13.73 for 2006 (824 complaints across 60 listings) to 149.57 for 2002 (1,047 across 7), against a generation median of 39.43. The highest year, 2002, is 3.8 times that median. No year reaches the 2.0x our rule needs together with an above-median ad share and 30 or more listings, so nothing is flagged. Our catalog holds fewer than 30 cars each for 2002, 2003 and 2004, so those yearly rates are small-denominator figures and our rule cannot flag them; read the raw NHTSA counts.
| Miles | Item | Cost | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| about 102,500 (average of 2002 complaints) | Catalytic converter failure (check engine light, P0420 or P0430) | $2,360 average reported on 2002 cars (CarComplaints). RepairPal's all-years Altima converter average is $1,577 to $1,682, and MechAI gives $600 to $2,400 for a Nissan bank 2 converter. | The mileage and the $2,360 come from a CarComplaints page for the 2002 model year, so they describe one year, not the whole generation. Go-Parts warns that a new converter will not clear P0420 if the real cause is an oxygen sensor or exhaust leak, so get the cause diagnosed before paying for a converter. We read these figures from search-result snippets, not full pages. |
| any | Crankshaft or camshaft position sensor failure (2.5L) | Free at a Nissan dealer when open | NHTSA recalls 03V455000 (2002-2003), 06V242000 (2003-2004) and 07V527000 (2002, 2005-2006) cover crank and cam position sensors on the 2.5L. Confirm each by VIN; a stalling or no-start history is the symptom to ask about. |
| not stated by the sources | 2.5L excessive oil consumption (2006) | Free at a Nissan dealer when open | NHTSA recall 06V223000 covers certain 2006 cars with the 2.5L for excessive oil consumption. Ask for the oil change history and check the level on the test drive. |
| any | Rear subframe cracking (2006) | Free at a Nissan dealer when open | NHTSA recall 06V046000. Look under the rear of the car for corrosion and cracks at the subframe mounts; confirm the recall by VIN. |
NHTSA complaints per catalog listing run from 1.62 for 2012 (426 complaints across 263 listings) to 13.68 for 2009 (1,601 across 117), against a generation median of 5.25. The highest year, 2009, is 2.6 times that median. Flagged by our rule: 2009.
| Miles | Item | Cost | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| not stated by the sources for this generation | CVT problems (shudder, slipping, replacement) | $4,800 to $5,500 at a Nissan dealer (CoverageX). Other sources give wider all-Altima ranges: $1,500 to $8,000 (DMV JDM Depot) and $5,000 to $8,000+ for a remanufactured unit (I-90 Nissan). | CoverageX says the 2007-2012 cars had early CVT issues, but the extended-warranty bulletins we read name only 2013-2018 Altimas, so these cars are not covered by those two extensions. The cost figures are all-years Altima ranges read from search-result snippets. |
| any | Air bag and occupant sensor recalls | Free at a Nissan dealer when open | NHTSA recall 08V521000 covers 204,361 2007-2008 Altimas (including hybrids) for air bags; 11V408000 and 12V055000 cover 2012 cars. Confirm by VIN. |
| any | Steering and suspension recalls | Free at a Nissan dealer when open | NHTSA recalls 12V494000 (2012-2013 steering), 08V363000 (2008 front suspension link bolt), 09V358000 (2009-2010 upper strut), 11V371000 (2011-2012 suspension). Steering is the largest complaint component for the generation in our NHTSA pull. Confirm each by VIN. |
A year is flagged by our rule only when all three hold: (1) its NHTSA complaints per catalog listing is at least 2.0x the median for its generation, (2) the share of ads that mention a problem is above the generation median, and (3) we track at least 30 listings for that year. The cutoff was fixed before we looked. Ad mentions are not failures, and a flag is a reason to inspect harder, not a verdict on any one car. We also re-ran the ad test with the 'rust' flaw left out, because the ad reader counts phrases like 'no rust' as mentions, and publish a flag only if it passes both ways.
Complaints add up over a car's whole life, so older years in a generation can look worse here than they are. Read this flag next to the complaint details below.
NHTSA complaints per catalog listing run from 0.99 for 2018 (226 complaints across 228 listings) to 7.12 for 2013 (2,314 across 325), against a generation median of 2.00. The highest year, 2013, is 3.6 times that median. No year reaches the 2.0x our rule needs together with an above-median ad share and 30 or more listings, so nothing is flagged.
| Miles | Item | Cost | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| about 202,000 in one owner report; extension runs to 84,000 | CVT failure (judder, slipping, replacement) and the warranty extension | $4,800 to $5,500 at a Nissan dealer (CoverageX); $5,900 quoted by AAMCO on a 2015 at 202k miles (one owner post). The extension makes covered repairs free inside 84 months or 84,000 miles. | Nissan's bulletins extend the CVT warranty from 60 months/60,000 miles to 84 months/84,000 miles on 2013-2016 Altimas (May 2020 bulletin) and 2017-2018 Altimas (May 2023 bulletin). Coverage runs from the original in-service date, so many cars are now past it, and some owners opted out of the class action. Check the VIN with a Nissan dealer. Cost figures come from search-result snippets. |
| any | Hood latch (can fail to latch or release) | Free at a Nissan dealer when open | NHTSA recalls 14V565000, 15V116000, 16V029000 and 20V315000 cover the hood latch across 2013-2018 cars. Confirm each by VIN. |
| any | Air bag occupant classification sensor and air bag inflator recalls | Free at a Nissan dealer when open | NHTSA recalls 15V681000, 16V911000 and 16V244000 cover air bag and occupant sensor issues on 2013-2016 cars; air bags are the third-largest complaint component for the generation in our NHTSA pull. Confirm by VIN. |
| any | Exterior lighting complaints and rear door latch | Free at a Nissan dealer when open | Exterior lighting is the largest complaint component for the generation in our NHTSA pull. NHTSA recall 17V040000 covers the rear door latch on 2015-2017 cars. Ads and complaints are not confirmed failures. |
NHTSA complaints per catalog listing run from 0.04 for 2026 (1 complaints across 23 listings) to 1.45 for 2019 (234 across 161), against a generation median of 0.29. The highest year, 2019, is 5.0 times that median. Flagged by our rule: 2019. Caution on the flags: most years in this generation are young and have had little time to collect complaints, so the generation median is very low and the 2x test is easy to pass. A flag here marks a year worth inspecting, not a pattern like 2009 and the 2013-2014 cars show.
| Miles | Item | Cost | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| any | Tie rod, steering rack bolts, fuel pump retainer, tire and rear camera recalls | Free at a Nissan dealer when open | NHTSA recalls 21V138000 (2020-2021 tie rod ball joint), 23V882000 (2024 steering), 18V922000 and 19V316000 (2019 fuel pump), 21V169000 and 20V685000 (tires), 23V628000 (2019-2021 rear camera). Confirm each by VIN. Newer cars have had less time to collect complaints, so low counts do not mean fewer problems per car. |
| not stated by the sources | CVT on 2019 and newer cars | CoverageX gives about $4,800 to $5,500 at a Nissan dealer for an Altima CVT, an all-years figure. | CoverageX says 2019 and newer models have far fewer complaints than the earlier CVT cars but are not problem-free. Our NHTSA pull supports the lower complaint volume; it cannot say how the CVTs will age. The extension bulletins we read do not list these years. |
A year is flagged by our rule only when all three hold: (1) its NHTSA complaints per catalog listing is at least 2.0x the median for its generation, (2) the share of ads that mention a problem is above the generation median, and (3) we track at least 30 listings for that year. The cutoff was fixed before we looked. Ad mentions are not failures, and a flag is a reason to inspect harder, not a verdict on any one car. We also re-ran the ad test with the 'rust' flaw left out, because the ad reader counts phrases like 'no rust' as mentions, and publish a flag only if it passes both ways.
Complaints add up over a car's whole life, so older years in a generation can look worse here than they are. Read this flag next to the complaint details below.
| Variant | Years | What it means for a buyer |
|---|---|---|
| Altima Hybrid (2007-2011) | 2007-2011 | Listed by NHTSA under its own model name. Its complaints are merged into the Altima counts on this page. |
| Altima coupe | 2008-2013 | Searched under the plain Altima name by NHTSA, so it is inside the counts and not separable. |
the story above, validated by two independent sources: federal complaints (NHTSA) + what sellers mention in 2827 real ads from our catalog
| Issue | Ads mentioning | Rate | |
|---|---|---|---|
| rust | 69/2827 | 2.4% | |
| electrical | 54/2827 | 1.9% | |
| transmission | 28/2827 | 1.0% | |
| engine replaced | 14/2827 | 0.5% | |
| suspension | 12/2827 | 0.4% | |
| ac failure | 12/2827 | 0.4% | |
| hybrid battery | 3/2827 | 0.1% |
complaint volume spikes show where problems cluster — higher bars, more owner pain
| Year | Complaints | Top components | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1993 | 125 | Vehicle Speed Control, Seat Belts, Air Bags | |
| 1994 | 113 | Air Bags, Electrical System, Engine And Engine Cooling | |
| 1995 | 180 | Air Bags, Power Train, Engine And Engine Cooling | |
| 1996 | 92 | Air Bags, Engine And Engine Cooling, Electrical System | |
| 1997 | 107 | Air Bags, Visibility, Suspension | |
| 1998 | 123 | Air Bags, Electrical System, Fuel System, Gasoline | |
| 1999 | 87 | Tires, Service Brakes, Hydraulic, Air Bags | |
| 2000 | 160 | Engine And Engine Cooling, Tires, Electrical System | |
| 2001 | 159 | Engine And Engine Cooling, Electrical System, Suspension | |
| 2002 | 1,047 | Engine And Engine Cooling, Structure, Engine | |
| 2003 | 883 | Engine And Engine Cooling, Structure, Engine | |
| 2004 | 276 | Engine And Engine Cooling, Structure, Engine | |
| 2005 | 1,091 | Structure, Engine And Engine Cooling, Engine | |
| 2006 | 824 | Structure, Engine And Engine Cooling, Engine | |
| 2007 | 498 | Suspension, Air Bags, Service Brakes, Hydraulic | |
| 2008 | 1,047 | Structure, Unknown Or Other, Air Bags | |
| 2009 | 1,601 | Steering, Steering,electrical System, Electrical System | |
| 2010 | 393 | Unknown Or Other, Air Bags, Power Train | |
| 2011 | 242 | Power Train, Unknown Or Other, Structure | |
| 2012 | 426 | Power Train, Air Bags, Unknown Or Other | |
| 2013 | 2,314 | Exterior Lighting, Air Bags, Power Train | |
| 2014 | 1,113 | Exterior Lighting, Air Bags, Power Train | |
| 2015 | 955 | Exterior Lighting, Air Bags, Power Train | |
| 2016 | 555 | Power Train, Air Bags, Unknown Or Other | |
| 2017 | 393 | Power Train, Air Bags, Unknown Or Other | |
| 2018 | 226 | Unknown Or Other, Air Bags, Power Train | |
| 2019 | 234 | Electrical System, Unknown Or Other, Engine | |
| 2020 | 182 | Electrical System, Unknown Or Other, Engine | |
| 2021 | 70 | Service Brakes,forward Collision Avoidance, Electrical... | |
| 2022 | 20 | Unknown Or Other, Service Brakes,forward Collision... | |
| 2023 | 30 | Electrical System, Engine, Unknown Or Other | |
| 2024 | 41 | Unknown Or Other, Structure, Back Over Prevention | |
| 2025 | 7 | Service Brakes, Hydraulic,service Brakes, Air, Power... | |
| 2026 | 1 | Electrical System,lane Departure |
total: 15,615 complaints on file · source: NHTSA complaints database (api.nhtsa.gov)
Own a Nissan Altima, or pricing one? See what they're actually selling for →
We don't tell you to skip a year; we flag by a fixed rule, and it flags 2009 and 2019. 2009 has 13.68 NHTSA complaints per catalog listing (1,601 complaints across 117 listings) against a 2007-2012 median of 5.25. Third-party lists most often name 2002 (24/7 Wall St) and the CVT years. 2002 has 1,047 complaints across 7 listings in our NHTSA pull, but only 7 catalog listings, so the rule cannot flag it. 2013 has 2,314 complaints across 325 listings, the most of any year.
CoverageX puts it at about $4,800 to $5,500 at a Nissan dealer. DMV JDM Depot gives a wider $1,500 to $8,000, and I-90 Nissan says $5,000 to $8,000+ for a remanufactured unit. One 2015 owner reported a $5,900 AAMCO quote at 202k miles. These are search-result snippets, not full-page reads.
Yes. Nissan's May 2020 bulletin extends the CVT warranty on 2013-2016 Altimas from 60 months/60,000 miles to 84 months/84,000 miles, and its May 2023 bulletin does the same for 2017-2018 Altimas. Both say owners who opted out of the class action may not be covered, so check the VIN with a Nissan dealer. Coverage is measured from the original in-service date, so many of these cars are now past it.
CarComplaints counts 131 catalytic converter failure complaints for the 2002 model year, with an average repair of $2,360 at 102,500 miles. RepairPal's average for an Altima converter is $1,577 to $1,682. Go-Parts warns a new converter will not clear a P0420 code if the cause is an oxygen sensor or exhaust leak. These are snippet reads.
We don't rank reliability. The 2019-present generation has the lowest complaints per listing in our data (median 0.29 against 2.00 for 2013-2018), but newer cars have had less time to collect complaints, so that partly reflects age.
NHTSA lists the 2007-2011 Altima Hybrid under its own name. We merged its complaints into the Altima counts and did not analyze it separately.